Genesee Cream Ale

Genesee Brewing Company, Rochester, New York
Genesee Cream Ale
5.1% ABV
12 oz. bottle into tulip glass

One of my favorite pastimes is purchasing nearly-expired meats from the discount section at Kroger, a dumpy but conveniently located grocery store. Two or three times a week I take my life into my hands while at the same time getting great deals on organic meats that just happen to have been languishing on the shelves for weeks.  What could be better than combining danger and thrift?

Tonight as I grilled some nearly-expired meat, I reached for my beer of choice in these circumstances: Genesee Cream Ale. Shout out to Neil B. for turning us on to this beer, which is unavailable in Michigan. Let me put it to you this way: your palate is like the broad night sky, and the Genesee Cream Ale is like a sparkler. It is lively, peppy, small, and leaves a generally positive impression. Just as Genesee Cream Ale combines the “flavor of a fine ale” and the “smoothness of a premium lager”, eating bargain bin meats several times a week combines the “tastes of a prince (who may be poisoning himself)” with the “budget of a pauper”.

So, I took a sip of the Genesee Cream Ale. Then, I immediately took a massive bite into a raw yellow banana pepper. These can be mild or fiery hot and there is no way of knowing without tasting. Would this single bite disable my beer palate for eternity?

The meat sizzled. I was unscathed by the pepper. Was it luck, or the protective aura of the Genesee Cream Ale?

~ by Perry S. on July 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “Genesee Cream Ale”

  1. Well done. I mean I hope the meat was.
    Beers don’t always taste the same. Cases in point (bottles, really):
    1. Sweaty Betty: Ilana loved this stuff a while ago. Now it’s down the sink. You can play this against old meat or Bells Oberon anytime — wheat beers may actually just be nasty.
    2. J.W. Lees Harvest barley wine aged in Lagavulin casks – the first two times (a bottle and from a half-cask) this stuff was dense, fantastically complex. Transformative even. This time, barely (barley?) a whiff of peat, then sickly sweet. As sweet as any malt beverage I’ve ever tried. Abominable. Again, down the sink.

    I am concerned.

  2. Great post, can’t beat a nice ice cold Cream Ale on a hot summer day… I could use one now…

  3. Sorry for the blurry photos, folks. My only defense is that they looked normal on the tiny camera display when I looked at them at night…

Leave a Reply

 
