Neil Reports: Bierbrouwerij De Koningshoeven B.V., La Trappe Dubbel

Bierbrouwerij De Koningshoeven B.V., Tilburg, Netherlands
La Trappe Dubbel
7% ABV
30 cl.

[The following review is from foreign correspondent Neil, who recently traded in his Rochester street-ready Ugg boots for a pair of clogs]

My fridge-cubicle here in my current abode was getting a little full, so I thought I’d relieve it of the lone beer in there: a Belgian-style double ale that I picked up for 93 cents. Why was it so cheap? Because I live in the Netherlands now, where a single red bell pepper costs more than a delicious beer. I like it.  My beer tonight is La Trappe Dubbel from Bierbrouwerij De Koningshoeven B.V, located in Tilburg, 42 miles (67.592448 kilometers) from here.  Given my nonexistent command of Dutch, all I can figure from the label is that it’s 7% alcohol, and that it’s 30cl worth of beer.

The Dubbel pours Coca-Cola umber. The head SOUNDS like Coca-Cola poured from a bottle, dissipating in the time it took me to type from the beginning of this paragraph to the word “like” earlier in this sentence. The smell is… alcohol and plums? Tastewise, it’s got the typical Belgian funk way buried under some malty sweetness, something like caramel-coated green apples. As for a finish, there’s not much to speak of. The feel of it goes away almost instantly. There’s a lingering sweetness. I’ll happily go to bed with teeth unbrushed (kidding…?) with this flavor. Or kiss myself (kidding…?).

The liquid warmed up a bit as I typed this and wound down my Tuesday. Not too much to hurt it, it seems.

I didn’t get the full 30cl out of the bottle on the first pour, due to a dinky glass. On the second pour, I got a good bit more head. Maybe some cinnamon on the nose now. Warm, Christmas spices. I once dated a young woman who loved one particular flavor of Italian soda, jasmine I think, because it tasted like Christmas. Was it jasmine? It doesn’t matter now. She dumped me at a Panera. Down to the final sips now. It’s a pleasant drink. Nothing impressive, but I certainly don’t feel cheated out of my 93 Euro-cents.

Overall, this beer is not what I expected from a “Dubbel Trappistenbier”. My expectations will certainly shift, as I expand my knowledge of the Benelux region and all its offerings.

~ by Perry S. on September 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
